## Vocabulary for "A Pitch in Time" by Robert A. Lytle

- Confederacy: Also called the South or the Confederate States of America, the Confederacy incorporated the states that seceded from the United States of America to form their own nation. Confederate states were: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
- 2. **Confederate**: Loyal to the Confederacy. Also Southern or Rebel.
- 3. **Copperhead**: Term for a Northerner who opposed the war effort.
- 4. **Democratic Party**: The major political party in America most sympathetic to states' rights and willing to tolerate the spread of slavery to the territories. Democrats opposed a strong Federal government. Most Southern men were Democrats before the War.
- 5. Emancipation: Freedom from slavery. See Emancipation Proclamation
- 6. **Federal**: Loyal to the government of the United States. Also known as Union, Yankee, or Northern.
- 7. North: Also called the Union or the United States the North was the part of the country that remained loyal to the Federal government during the Civil War. Northern states were: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wisconsin. West Virginia became a Northern state in 1863 and California and Oregon were also officially Northern but they had little direct involvement in the War.
- 8. "Peculiar Institution": Another term for slavery in the South.
- 9. **Republican Party**: A political party created in the 1850s to prevent the spread of slavery to the territories. Eventually Republicans came to oppose the entire existence of slavery. Abraham Lincoln was the first Republican president. Very few Southerners were Republicans.
- 10. **Secession**: (pronounced *si-sesh-uhn*) Withdrawal from the Federal government of the United States. Southern states, feeling persecuted by the North, seceded by voting to separate from the Union. Southerners felt this was perfectly legal but Unionists saw it as rebellion. See the Secession Acts of the 13 Confederate States
- 11. **Sectionalism**: Promoting the interests of a section or region (such as the North or the South) instead of the entire country.

- 12. **Slavery**: A state of bondage in which African Americans (and some Native Americans) were owned by other people, usually white, and forced to labor on their behalf.
- 13. **South**: Also called the Confederacy, the Confederate States of America, or (by Northerners) the Rebel states, the South incorporated the states that seceded from the United States of America to form their own nation. Southern states were: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
- 14. **States' Rights**: This doctrine held the powers of the individual states as greater than the powers of the Federal government. States' rights meant that the Federal government held its power only through the consent of the states and that any powers not specifically given to the Federal government remained in control of the states. See the Declaration of the Causes of the Seceding States
- 15. **Territory**: Land within the mainland boundaries of the country that had not yet become a state by 1861. Nevada Territory, Utah Territory, and Colorado Territory had basically the same boundaries they have today as states; Washington Territory encompassed today's states of Washington and Idaho; Dakota Territory is now the states of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and the northern part of Wyoming; Nebraska Territory today is the southern part of Wyoming and the state of Nebraska; New Mexico Territory included the states of Arizona and New Mexico; and the remaining unorganized land, also called the Indian Territory, filled the approximate boundaries of Oklahoma.
- 16. U.S.C.T.: United States Colored Troops. Federal Army regiments composed of African-American soldiers. The U.S.C.T.'s were established by General Order Number 143, issued May 22, 1863, and included infantry, cavalry and artillery regiments. While the soldiers themselves were African American, officers were white. Until 1864 African American soldiers received less pay than their white counterparts. The most famous USCT regiment is the 54<sup>th</sup> Massachusetts, composed of free Northern men. The 33<sup>rd</sup> USCT regiment, however, has the distinction of being the first federally authorized regiment. Composed of freed slaves, it was originally called the 1<sup>st</sup> South Carolina Volunteer Infantry.
- 17. **Whig Party**: A political party generally against slavery and its expansion into the territories. The Whig party had basically been swallowed up by the Democrat and Republican parties by the time of the Civil War.
- 18. **Yankee**: A Northerner; someone loyal to the Federal government of the United States. Also, Union, Federal, or Northern.